离岸公司信息

经验丰富的专业人士的真实答案

询问有关离岸银行业务,公司组建,资产保护和相关主题的问题。

立即致电24 Hrs./Day
如果顾问很忙,请再打电话。
1-800-959-8819

比较Nevis LLC和库克群岛有限责任公司

Nevis LLC对库克群岛有限责任公司

离岸有限责任公司(LLC)一次又一次被证明是一种有效的资产保护工具。 通过在您声明属于LLC的资产周围建立隔离墙,您可以帮助保护他们免受将来可能针对您的诉讼。 建立离岸有限责任公司为您和您的资产提供了几乎难以逾越的安全保障层,因为这些国家/地区的法律专门制定,旨在为资产创造一个安全的避风港,而这些资产在某种程度上可以带到他们的海岸。

Cook Island LLC 以及 Nevis LLC 是两个 离岸资产保护 为掠夺性主张提供强有力措施的工具。 两国都加强了资产保护立法。 库克岛在2009中这样做了 库克群岛国际有限责任公司法和尼维斯以及它的 尼维斯有限责任公司条例(修订),2015。 在成员构成,运营协议,对外国判断的立场以及隐私水平方面,很少有人将LLC与其他LLC区分开来。 这是因为对国家信托和有限责任公司立法的最新修订密切关注并反映了当前流行的商业和法律环境。 库克群岛有限责任公司和尼维斯有限责任公司在收费订单限制方面存在细微差别,但两者都具有特定的和强硬的措辞 资产保护立法 他们是严格执行的。
库克群岛与尼维斯

Nevis LLC对库克群岛有限责任公司 - 会员资格

这两个地方都允许建立单一成员有限责任公司。 同时,也没有对可能包含在其友好海岸上建立的LLC的成员数量施加限制。 Cook Island和Nevis LLC所有者可以参与LLC的管理,而无需对LLC在正常业务过程中可能产生的任何债务或义务承担个人责任。 他们还可以选择由非成员管理有限责任公司,并在其经营所在的业务领域拥有特定的专业知识。

为了增强LLC的资产保护功能,可能建议LLC由非会员外国董事管理,在这种情况下,是库克岛或尼维斯居民的注册信托或LLC经理。 外国LLC经理不受成员所在国法律的约束,因此,除了LLC所在地以外,没有法律义务遵守来自任何其他司法管辖区的法院命令。 这是两个国家的LLC成员可以选择的一种选择,作为额外的资产保护措施,但LLC不需要合法建立和认可。

库克群岛和尼维斯旗帜

灵活的经营协议

库克岛有限责任公司的结构非常灵活,对于尼维斯有限责任公司也是如此。 经营协议可以包括任何类型的行为准则,成员责任或成员希望包含的法规(只要这些是合法的),以及他们特别希望遗漏的行为。 每个地点都有一些法定条款,以保护成员。 在广泛的法律界限内,成员可以构建LLC以适应和服务于他们首先形成它的目的。 这种灵活性只会增加在任一地点建立和运营LLC的便利性。

隐形人

隐私

除了作为一种有效的资产保护工具之外,离岸有限责任公司还为成员提供了一种高度珍贵的“商品”,这种商品在这个越来越有线(接近侵入性)的世界中 - 隐私。 建立Nevis LLC 不要求公开提交会员名称或任何其他有关他们的信息。 有关会员资格或资产的未来变更通过注册代理处理。 同样如此 建立库克岛有限责任公司。 会员可以自由运营其有限责任公司(无论是直接自己还是通过中间人),而无需进行无理审查。

这种隐私权也意味着,在正式发现之外,成员国主管辖区内的债权人不太可能发现该成员与境外有限责任公司的关系。 会员可以将他们的公司记录保存在他们认为记录最安全的世界任何地方。 两个司法管辖区都不要求对帐户或记录进行年度检查。 续约由LLC在岛上的注册代理人处理。 在这个互联互通的世界中,有时似乎一个人的数字足迹只是点击一只鼠标,远离任何可以访问互联网的人的信息泄露 - 以及感知的债务来解决。 在任何一个岛屿天堂都有离岸有限责任公司,你基本上不会留下明显的数字足迹供任何人追踪,实现一个难以遵循的隐私水平。

伞盾

充电订单保护

库克岛和尼维斯基本上只承认对其在其管辖范围内正确建立的有限责任公司进行补救的一条合法途径,这是一项收费令。 但是,两国都严格界定收费令的限制和范围,以允许债权人从有限责任公司债务人那里“收集”。

所有权百分比

首先,收费令仅涵盖通常会分配给该债务人 - 成员的所有权利益的百分比 - 如果有的话。 它不会影响LLC的其他资产,也不会影响其他成员的分配。

保护会员的立场

第二,对债务人提出指控的债权人不能假定该成员在有限责任公司中的地位,也不能以任何方式干涉有限责任公司的运作。 事实上,尽管有收费令,债务人仍可继续执行有关责任规则所规定的职责和责任,而不受债权人的干涉。 收费令并未赋予债权人任何清算或扣押有限责任公司资产以满足成员债务或以任何方式限制有限责任公司业务的权力。 有限责任公司可以继续运作,其资产完好无损,其他成员的分配不受影响。

收费订单到期

第三,两国都严格限制收费令,使其达到债务人所欠的实际数额。 惩罚性,再分配性或任何示范性损害赔偿是不允许的。

在这方面,Nevis LLC与库克群岛有限责任公司相比略有优势 尼维斯LLC立法 对收费订单设置严格的三年到期限制。 当前 Cook Islands LLC法律 收费订单的有效性限制为五年。

Nevis LLC:收费订单三年到期

库克群岛有限责任公司:收费订单五年到期

优势:尼维斯

尼维斯vs库克群岛法律

不承认外国判决

尼维斯和库克群岛都是主权国家。 因此,他们每个人都有自己的一套规则和法规来管理有限责任公司,这些规则和法规超出了其他国家的法律 - 这是理所当然的。 这两个国家都不会自动执行外国法院对债务人的判决。 尼维斯法律要求债权人必须对尼维斯法院的债务人提起诉讼。 尼维斯LLC法规 要求债权人向Nevis法院支付100,000(EC)金额,然后才能对Nevis LLC的债务人提起诉讼。 尽管法院可能会要求在审判开始时提出一笔存款,但库克岛并未强制要求提供类似的存款。

Nevis LLC:债权人必须支付$ 100,000法庭押金才能提起诉讼。

库克群岛有限责任公司:存款未被授权提起诉讼。

优势:尼维斯

地球在手

LLC迁移

尼维斯岛和库克群岛使会员可以轻松地将现有的LLC转移到世界上几乎任何国家。 特别是在库克群岛,只需要一个简单的申请程序就可以将外国有限责任公司重新定居到这些岛屿。 注册的库克群岛代理人填写一份申请表,附上有关LLC的组建证明和组织文件的副本,并将其提交给注册官。 在接受后,有限责任公司被认为是有效的,并且自最初在另一个司法管辖区设立之日起在岛上开始存在。 尼维斯有一个同样简单的LLC移民法规。

值得注意的是,尼维斯和库克群岛关于有限责任公司移民的立法的措辞在谈到债务和义务时非常具体。 有限责任公司在任何地方承担所有债务或义务(包括对其的任何判决)。 虽然这些岛屿将尽职尽责地保护根据尼维斯和库克群岛法律正确建立的任何有限责任公司,但他们不会故意搁置可执行的判决 已经存在 在迁移到岛屿时反对有限责任公司。 因此,如果现有公司已经存在法律问题,那么组建新的尼维斯或库克群岛有限责任公司并将该公司的资产转移到该公司可能是更好的解决方案。

对立法者的建议:如果在尼维斯或库克群岛修改了法规,使移民有限责任公司承担了先前的责任,那么钟摆可以广泛地转向支持该司法管辖区。

尼维斯VS. 库克群岛最终分析

归根结底,在库克群岛或尼维斯建立有限责任公司的决定必须考虑一些因素。 我们不仅要考虑每个国家现有的LLC法律(明确而全面),还要考虑您可以使用的其他资产保护工具,例如资产保护信托。 除了备受尊重的LLC法规之外,这些国家中的每一个还拥有优于其他司法管辖区的资产保护信托法规。

在任一国家设立的有限责任公司通过特殊的资产保护法规和运营协议的灵活结构,为其成员提供可比较的保护,以防止对其成员提出无理索赔。 此外,这两个地区都是独立的主权国家。 因此,他们通过不自动执行外国判决而不首先使问题符合其自身法律的真实性,为LLC成员提供进一步的保护。 两国均接受收费令作为对其在其管辖范围内正确建立的有限责任公司债务人成员的唯一补救措施。 而且,两者都严格限制了收费令的范围。 与库克群岛(五年)相比,尼维斯在考虑收费令有效(三年)时的时间稍短。

总结

可以这么说,两个离岸地点都提供了清晰和全面的信息 资产保护法 在各自的司法管辖区内严格执行 - 对于LLC所有者和各地成员的集体松懈而言。 鉴于LLC法律在不断改进,截至本文撰写时,Nevis LLC与库克群岛有限责任公司相比略有优势。

美元符号沙

FREE Consultation
GET MORE INFORMATION
input form

contact-pic

Real Answers by Experienced Professionals.

Ask questions about offshore banking, company formation, asset protection and related topics.

Call Now 24 Hrs./Day

If consultants are busy, please call again.

1-800-959-8819

Nevis LLC vs. Cook Islands LLC

Time and again, an offshore Limited Liability Company (LLC) has proven to be an effective asset protection instrument. By building a wall around your assets that you declare to be part of an LLC, you help safeguard them from future lawsuits that may be brought against you as an individual. Establishing an offshore LLC provides a nearly impenetrable layer of security for you and your assets since these countries have laws that are specifically formulated to create a safe haven for assets that are, in a manner of speaking, brought to their shores.

The Cook Island LLC and the Nevis LLC are two offshore asset protection instruments that offer strong measures against predatory claims. Both countries strengthened their asset protection legislation. Cook Island did so in 2009 with the Cook Islands International Limited Liability Companies Act, and Nevis as well with its 2015 NIETO Amendments (Nevis International Exempt Trust Ordinance). In terms of membership composition, operation agreement, stance towards foreign judgement, and level of privacy, there is very little to differentiate one LLC from the other. This is because the latest revisions to both country’s trust and LLC legislation closely capture and reflect the prevalent business and legal environment at the current time. There are minor differences between a Cook Islands LLC and a Nevis LLC when it comes to charging order limitations, however both have specific and strongly-worded asset protection legislation and they are strictly enforced.

Nevis LLC vs. Cook Islands LLC – Membership

Both locations permit the establishment of a single-member LLC. At the same time, neither impose a limit on the number of members that may comprise an LLC established on their friendly shores. Cook Island and Nevis LLC owners can participate in the management of the LLC without personally being liable for any debts or obligations that the LLC may incur in the normal course of business. They can also elect to have the LLC managed by a non-member with particular expertise in the business arena where they operate.

To enhance an LLC’s asset protection feature, it may be recommended that the LLC be managed by a non-member foreign director, in this instance, a registered trust or LLC manager who is a resident of either Cook Island or Nevis. A foreign LLC manager is not subject to the laws of a member’s home country and therefore, does not have a legal obligation to follow a court order coming from any other jurisdiction except where the LLC is domiciled. This is an option available to LLC members in both countries, as an additional asset protection measure, but it is not required for an LLC to be legally established and recognized.

Flexible Operating Agreement

The structure of a Cook Island LLC is highly flexible and this holds true for a Nevis LLC as well. The Operating Agreement can include any type of code of conduct, member responsibilities, or regulations that members wish to include (as long as these are legal), as well as those they specifically prefer to leave out. Each location has certain statutory provisions that are imposed for the protection of members. Within wide legal boundaries, members can structure the LLC to suit and serve the purpose for which they are forming it in the first place. This flexibility only adds to the ease of establishing and operating an LLC in either location.

Privacy

In addition to being an effective instrument of asset protection, an offshore LLC gives members a highly-prized ‘commodity’ in this increasingly wired (bordering on intrusive) world – privacy. Establishing a Nevis LLC does not require the public filing of member names nor any other information about them. Future changes regarding membership or assets are handled through the registered agent. The same is true for establishing a Cook Island LLC. Members are free to run their LLCs (whether directly themselves or through intermediaries) without unwarranted scrutiny.

This blanket of privacy also means it is highly unlikely that a creditor in a member’s home jurisdiction will find out about the member’s connection with an offshore LLC outside of formal discovery. Members can keep their company records anywhere in the world where they judge the records will be most secure. Neither jurisdiction require an annual inspection of accounts or records. Renewals are handled by the LLC’s registered agent on the islands. In this heavily inter-connected world, it may sometimes seem that a person’s digital footprint is a mere click of a mouse away from disclosure by just about anyone who has access to the Internet – and a perceived debt to settle. With an offshore LLC in either island paradise, you essentially do not leave readily apparent digital footprints for anyone to trace, achieving a level of privacy that’s tough to follow.

Charging Order Protection

Cook Island and Nevis basically recognize only one lawful avenue of remediation against an LLC that has been properly established under their jurisdiction and that is a charging order. However, both countries strictly define the limitations and scope of a charging order in terms of what it permits a creditor to ‘collect’ from an LLC debtor-member.

Percent of Ownership

First, the charging order only covers the percentage of ownership interest that would have normally been distributed to that debtor-member – if any. It does not affect the other assets of the LLC nor the distributions that are due to the other members.

Protection Of Member’s Position

Second, a creditor with a charging order against a debtor-member cannot assume that member’s position in the LLC nor interfere with the running of the LLC in any manner. In fact, charging order notwithstanding, a debtor-member can continue to carry out his or her duties and responsibilities as prescribed by the LLC regulations without interference from the creditor. A charging order does not give a creditor any power over or right to liquidate or seize the assets of an LLC to satisfy a debt of a member, or to restrict the business of the LLC in any manner. The LLC can continue to function with its assets intact and the distributions to other members unaffected.

Charging Order Expiration

Third, both countries severely limit a charging order to the actual amount that is owed by the debtor-member. Punitive, retributory, or any exemplary damages are not permissible.

In this regard, a Nevis LLC has a slight advantage over a Cook Islands LLC in that Nevis LLC legislation places a strict three-year expiration limit on charging orders. Current Cook Islands LLC laws have a limit of five years on the effectivity of charging orders.

Nevis LLC: Three-year expiration on charging orders

Cook Islands LLC: Five-year expiration on charging orders

Advantage: Nevis

Non-Recognition of Foreign Judgement

Nevis and Cook Islands are both sovereign countries. As such, they each have their own set of rules and regulations governing LLCs that they hold above the laws of other countries – and rightfully so. Neither country will automatically enforce a judgement issued by a foreign court against a debtor-member. Nevis laws dictate that the creditor must mount a lawsuit against a debtor-member in a Nevis court. Nevis LLC regulations require creditors to pay the sum of $100,000 (EC) to a Nevis court before any action can be brought against a debtor-member of a Nevis LLC. Cook Island does not mandate a similar deposit, although a court may request for one to be made at the start of a trial.

Nevis LLC: Creditor must pay a $100,000 court deposit to initiate a lawsuit.

Cook Islands LLC: Deposit not mandated to initiate a lawsuit.

Advantage: Nevis

LLC Migration

Nevis and Cook Islands make it easy for members to transfer their existing LLC to or from almost any country in the world. In Cook Islands in particular, all it takes is a simple application process to re-domicile a foreign LLC to the islands. The registered Cook Islands agent completes an application form with copies of the LLC’s certificate of formation and organizational documents and submits them to the Registrar. Upon acceptance, the LLC is recognized to be a valid and to have begun its existence on the islands from the date it was originally set up in the other jurisdiction. Nevis has an equally simple LLC migration regulation in place.

It is important to note that the wording of the Nevis and Cook Islands legislation regarding LLC migration is very specific when it talks about debts and obligations. An LLC takes with it all debts or obligations (including any judgement against it) wherever it goes. While the islands will dutifully protect any LLC that has been properly set up according to Nevis and Cook Islands laws, they will not willfully set aside an enforceable judgement already existing against the LLC at the time of its migration to the islands. So, forming a new Nevis or Cook Islands LLC and transferring assets from that company into it may be a better solution if the existing company already has legal issues.

Recommendation to legislators: If the statutes were changed in Nevis or the Cook Islands such that immigrant LLCs shed prior liability, the pendulum could swing widely in favor of that jurisdiction.

Nevis Vs. Cook Islands Final Analysis

In the final analysis, the decision to establish an LLC in the Cook Islands or in Nevis will have to take a few things into consideration. Not only should one consider each country’s existing LLC laws (which are clear and comprehensive), but also the other asset protection instruments that are available to you, such as an asset protection trust. In addition to their well-respected LLC statutes, each of these countries also possess asset protection trust statutes that are superior to other jurisdictions.

An LLC established in either country offers comparable levels of protection against unwarranted claims against its members through exceptional asset protection statutes and the flexible structure of the operating agreement. In addition, both regions are independent,  sovereign countries. So, they offer further protection to LLC members by not automatically enforcing foreign judgements without first subjecting the matter to the veracity of their own laws. Both countries accept a charging order as the only remediation against a debtor-member of an LLC that has been properly established under their jurisdiction. Moreover, both also severely limit the scope of a charging order. Nevis has a slightly shorter period of time when it will consider a charging order to be effective (three years) when compared to the Cook Islands (five years).

Conclusion

Suffice it to say, both offshore locations provide clear and comprehensive asset protection laws that are strictly enforced in their respective jurisdictions – much to the collective sigh of relief of LLC owners and members everywhere. Whereas LLC laws are constantly improving, as of this writing, the Nevis LLC has the slight advantage over the Cook Islands LLC.