离岸公司信息

经验丰富的专业人士的真实答案

询问有关离岸银行业务,公司组建,资产保护和相关主题的问题。

立即致电24 Hrs./Day
如果顾问很忙,请再打电话。
1-800-959-8819

尼维斯有限责任公司

A Nevis LLC 有巨大的 资产保护 好处。 所以,让我们直截了当地谈谈10主要内容 Nevis LLC的优势。 首先,我们将看一下好处。 之后,您将找到每个项目的详细说明。 我们将讨论开放一个 银行账户 并讨论 收费令 保护。

10 Nevis LLC的优势

尼维斯总理万斯·阿莫里
我们的CEO(左)与Vance Amory,尼维斯总理(右)
  1. Nevis LLC为多成员和多成员提供资产保护 单身成员 公司。 也就是说,它可以保护成员免于因个人诉讼而失去公司或内部资产。 这称为“充电订单”保护。 (截至撰写本文时,47州50中的单一成员美国有限责任公司的情况并非如此。)
  2. 一个人必须张贴一个 在提交与Nevis LLC相关的诉讼之前,在尼维斯法院。 这种联系是 $100,000 2015修正案和法院在2018中决定的任何金额(包括但不限于,大于$ 100,000)。
  3. 将资产转移到Nevis LLC不会触发 与大多数其他类型的离岸公司相关的后果。 这是因为有限责任公司通常是税收中性的,税收通过公司流向成员。
  4. 有两年了 诉讼时效 资产被置于Nevis LLC内部后的欺诈性运输。 因此,在此之后,法院将拒绝审理案件以收取成员的利益。
  5. 即使债权人超过了诉讼时效, 超出合理怀疑的证据 在尼维斯需要进行欺诈性转移指控。 (这是一个非常高的法律障碍。)
  6. 可以添加到LLC的成员数量没有限制。
  7. 如果结构合理,美国破产法院通常无法触及Nevis LLC的资产(与美国有限责任公司不同)。
  8. 与美国有限责任公司不同,尼维斯法院不允许取消成员对公司的权益。
  9. 有一种方法可以释放对某人在LLC中的所有者权益的留置权。 也就是说,其他人(例如,配偶或子女)可以从留置权中获得债务人的LLC会员资格。
  10. 美国法院经常裁定公司所在的法院 形成 而不是有限责任公司成员 生活 应该解释公司间的协议。 这包括运营协议和上述会员权益的转移。
尼克斯总理马克布兰特利
我们的首席执行官(左)与尼克斯总理马克布兰特利(右)

尼维斯有限责任公司法律

A Nevis LLC 是根据加勒比岛尼维斯岛颁布的法规成立的有限责任公司。 尼维斯在1995中制定了LLC法规,并在2015中对其进行了修订,进一步增强了其资产保护功能。 尼维斯岛是圣基茨和尼维斯联邦的一部分。 它位于佛罗里达东南约1300英里,波多黎各以东约300英里。 自1984政府颁布“尼维斯商业公司条例”以来,它已将自己提升为资产保护避风港。

在海外建立LLC可以为美国有限责任公司提供额外的资产保护层。 资产最好以公司名称持有外国账户。 这是因为这些资产超出了美国法院的范围。 此外,与美国法规相比,一些外国司法管辖区拥有LLC法规,可提供卓越的资产保护。

特别是尼维斯岛颁布了有利的有限责任公司 法律 在1995中。 反过来,美国人可以使用 Nevis LLC 加上离岸银行账户或投资账户,以帮助保护资金免受国内诉讼。 或者,可以使用该公司在美国经营业务。 做后者只是组建公司,然后在希望经营的州提交外国资格证书。

命名您的公司

政府需要对包含某些词语的公司给予特别批准。 公司名称中的限制词包括:保证,银行,建筑协会,商会,特许,合作社,基金,帝国,保险,投资,贷款,市政,皇家或大学。

有利的2015修正案

尼维斯立法机构在2015修订了该条例,进一步提高了Nevis LLC的资产保护利益。 首先,与大多数美国州不同,尼维斯允许单一成员有限责任公司享有与多成员公司相同的保护。 也就是说,尼维斯法律规定了一项收费令留置权作为债权人的唯一补救办法来攻击债务人的所有者权益。 尼维斯LLC组建 甚至LLC也只由一个人拥有。 也就是说,对尼维斯有限责任公司的所有者作出判决的人不能接受有限责任公司或其内部的资产。

答案

美国法律的好处

更好的是,如果美国个人或​​公司有收费令,持有收费令的人必须就该部分成员的公司内部利润纳税,无论他们是否收到该分配(Rev. Rul.77- 137)。 这是因为有权获得分配的人是负责税单的人,无论利润是否实际分配。 再一次,是的,起诉你的人现在将负责支付你的尼维斯有限责任公司的税单,即使你决定不从你的公司分配给他们。 尼维斯的收费令留在三年后到期,不可再生。

尼维斯酒店场地
Nevis Hotel Grounds(所有图片除地图由我们的管理团队拍摄。)

经营Nevis LLC

将资产转移到离岸单一成员有限责任公司的美国公民不会引发通常与向其他类型的离岸实体转移资产相关的税务后果。 尼维斯不承认外国判决。 尼维斯办事处的管理人员都知道,美国债权人从未通过尼维斯法院获得收费令,以便他们能够执行美国的判决。

尼维斯地图

它变得更好。 2015修正案将尼维斯的欺诈转移诉讼时效减少到仅两年。 这意味着,一旦您将资产转移到Nevis LLC,两年后法院将拒绝审理此案。 更好的是,债权人必须无可置疑地证明债务人将资产转让给尼维斯有限责任公司以阻碍或拖延债权人。 通知法院您只是将资产转移到尼维斯有限责任公司以实现国际多元化,可能会对欺诈性转移指控提出足够的合理怀疑,以防止债权人陷入困境。 此外,2015修正案要求债权人在提交法律文件以强制执行对Nevis LLC成员的判决之前发布$ 100,000美国债券。 在2018中,尼维斯政府更进一步,允许尼维斯高等法院设定的债券金额甚至高于(或低于)100,000美元上限。

尼维斯酒店大堂
尼维斯四季酒店

美国法院的保护

另一方面,美国法院一贯认为债权人可以通过美国州法院程序取消债务人对美国单一成员有限责任公司的权益。 美国有限责任公司也有充电订单留置权保护。 但是,美国法院一直在突破美国有限责任公司法规所提供的保护。 不在尼维斯。

这对美国法院有何帮助? 2015对Nevis LLC法规进行的其他修订对于保护其中的资产免受美国法院的攻击非常有益。 尼克斯有限责任公司法规的2015修正案具有保护成员的措辞,这些成员拥有收费令,这取决于他们对公司的兴趣。 该成员的利益可能由其他没有留置会员资格的LLC成员获得。 例如,我们假设一家公司由丈夫,妻子和两个孩子拥有。 父亲对自己作出判决,他对LLC的兴趣获得了收费令。 妻子或孩子可以免费获得他对LLC的兴趣。 或者,他可以将自己在LLC中的权益与其他资产一起赎回,包括免于判决债权人的资产。

尼维斯LLC池
四季游泳池

此外,新法规规定,即使会员有收费令,他仍可以提供额外资金。 另外,如果有两个或更多成员,则可以自由进行分发的成员可以这样做,而无需向收费成员进行分发,这将导致扣除该部分分发。

尼维斯码头
尼维斯码头

前两个条件与LLC及其成员的内部运作有关。 在几乎所有美国司法管辖区,与公司内部事务有关的问题以及LLC成员之间的问题由实体成立的司法管辖区而非成员或所有者居住地管理。

阳台
尼斯比特种植园海滩俱乐部

尼维斯LLC管理局

操作Nevis LLC的美国人可能需要进行简单的一次性归档 IRS表格8832。 鉴于默认情况下,美国单一成员有限责任公司接受独资经营者或“被忽视的实体”税务处理,而多成员有限责任公司则作为合伙企业纳税,离岸有限责任公司需要提交8832。 因此,尼维斯有限责任公司被视为税收中性,不应对美国人征税。 尽管如此,我们似乎没有提供税务建议,我们建议咨询具有海外结构经验的注册会计师。

尼维斯有限责任公司的另一个不错的功能是成员或经理不必住在尼维斯。 例如,Nevis LLC的经理可能是会员,也可能是对自己有判断力的债务人。 那个人可能住在美国或全球任何其他县。 如果某人有判决,该人可以对Nevis LLC拥有大量控制权,Nevis LLC可以在任何国家/地区持有资产。 Nevis LLC可以在美国,尼维斯或其他任何地方持有资产。 Nevis LLC可能在加利福尼亚州,尼维斯,瑞士或其他地方拥有银行账户。

四季4
尼维斯婚礼现场四季酒店

Nevis LLC经理

而它是 可能, 它不是 最佳 从资产保护的角度来看,判决债务人也是他自己的Nevis LLC的经理。 最好聘请一位住在美国以外的经理。 由于美国法院对海外LLC管理人员没有管辖权,因此美国法官无法成功执行外国人将资金返回美国的命令。 因此,正确起草的经营协议不允许判决债务人移除外国经理,否则美国法官可以命令他这样做。 我们的尼维斯联盟组织由保险公司授权和保税,以符合客户的最佳利益。 因此,如果资产在债权人留在美国时有可能被100%扣押,那么我会想到两个选择。

方案一是什么都不做,让别人抓住你辛苦赚来的资产。 方案二是暂时让公司接受已经过必要的密集背景检查以获得尼维斯许可证并且其行为得到保险公司支持的统治。 在哪种情况下,赔率更有利于你? 对于那些没有信任的朋友或居住在国外的家庭成员的人来说,有非常有信誉的,长期以来的受托公司从来没有拿过客户的钱,可以作为初始的共同经理或继任经理,他们可以在“坏事”时保护你“ 发生。

猴子穿越标志
猴子穿越标志,查尔斯顿

Trust + LLC =最佳资产保护

最终的资产保护安排涉及尼维斯的资产保护信托或库克群岛较受欢迎的管辖区。 在此安排中,离岸信托持有Nevis LLC的所有会员权益。 客户(和/或其配偶)是信托的受益人,并且是Nevis LLC的经理。 反过来,Nevis LLC持有一个或多个银行账户。 客户是银行账户的签名。 当坏事发生时,信托的受托人可以作为有限责任公司的经理介入,如果当地法官命令他遣返资金,则将客户置于不可能的位置。 由于没有资产转移,当经理的职位发生变化时,资产没有“欺诈性转移”。 只有公司的职位发生变化。

Monkey
我们的管理层实际看到这只猴子在标志附近穿过马路并拍下了这张照片。

在选择受托人时,重要的是要确保它是您可以信任的人。 如果受托人在尼维斯或库克群岛拥有执照,您可以放心,政府已对其高级职员,董事和业主进行了重大背景调查。 此外,信托公司定期接受当地监管机构的审核和审查。 由于这些司法管辖区的大量收入来自离岸服务行业,因此这些国家非常努力地维护其各自司法管辖区的声誉。 顺便提一下,您会发现离岸管理公司对您的背景检查比您对它们进行更全面的背景检查。 他们希望确保与有合法资金来源的知名人士开展业务。 维护他们的许可证取决于它。

接收
尼维斯四季酒店接待处

法律紧急情况下的保护

您会发现,当您遇到法律紧急情况并希望Nevis LLC提供商来救援时,他们不会直接为您管理您的资产。 就像美国的托管投资账户一样,他们会在资金管理公司指派一名投资专业人士,在您的指导下为您投资。 因此,如果您需要让受托人担任您的Nevis LLC经理,他们会聘请瑞士的一家银行投资经理来处理您的投资。 投资公司通常会与您联系,提出投资组合,然后寻求您的意见。

因此,与美国管理账户一样,您让经理了解您的风险承受能力,并且该机构将为您提出在Nevis LLC内批准的建议。 因此,您可以让他们选择适当的股票,债券,贵金属和/或有息投资组合,以满足您的舒适度。 就瑞士而言,来自该司法管辖区的银行家在访问其他客户的区域时,通常最终会亲自与您会面。 您可以在线访问自己的帐户,以便查看投资情况。 如果您提出要求,您还可以从Nevis LLC帐户收到纸质声明和投资确认。

Nevis LLC的优势

Nevis LLC有多个 优点,包括以下内容:

  • 免除尼维斯税
  • 廉价的初始形成和年度维护
  • 可以在24小时内建立
  • 可以在美国或其他司法管辖区经营业务。
  • 不需要实收资本
  • 公司受到判决债权人的扣押
  • 公司内部的资产受到保护,不受对成员的判决。
  • 单一成员有限责任公司是合法的
  • 单一成员有限责任公司获得与多成员有限责任公司相同的资产保护
  • 会员(所有者)和经理(经营公司的人员)未在公共记录中提交
  • LLC的经理可以控制公司的100%
  • 经理不需要是所有者,但可以控制公司及其资产的100%。
  • 来自任何国家/地区的个人或法人实体可以是经理或成员。
  • 没有任何外汇管制
  • 可以与来自其他司法管辖区的LLC合并
  • 美国公司或LLC可能会转变为Nevis LLC

立法

Nevis LLC根据尼维斯有限责任公司条例1995创建,并在2015中进行了修订。 这些法规最初是基于非常有利的美国特拉华州的公司章程。

“尼维斯有限责任公司(修订)条例”,2015(“条例”)于1,2015于7月颁布。 有两项主要的资产保护修订。 首先,对有关收费订单的部分进行了重述。 其次,有一个关于欺诈性转移的新增部分。

在尼维斯大厅的国际象棋
查尔斯敦酒店

收费令部分的主要变化是,收费令是任何判定债权人(包括破产受托人)可以获得的唯一补救措施。 也就是说,尼维斯有限责任公司只有一个或多个成员,尼维斯法院不会允许没收有限责任公司或其中的资产。 此外,收费令不允许包括因罚款,罚款或惩罚性赔偿而产生的金额。

针对Nevis LLC的收费令不被视为该会员对该公司的权益的留置权。 有收费令的人可能不会跳入并成为会员,因此原所有者保留其所有权。 他们不能行使任何成员的权利。 订单持有人不得干涉任何管理决策。 此外,他们不能清算或扣押公司的任何资产。 他们不能限制公司的活动。 而且,他们无法解散实体。

尼维斯大厅

收费订单到期3年

与美国的判决相比,通常持续10年10年更新(总共20年),Nevis LLC收费令不可续订,并且必须在提交后三(3)年后到期。 此外,公司可以继续寻求其成员的额外投资,并可以保留通常发给收费成员的分配。

在第43A节中,增加了一个新的声明,涉及欺诈性转移 公司。 钍该部分涉及试图扣押判决债务人已转移到公司的资产的债权人。 在尼维斯和库克群岛信托法之后,本节说债权人需要在合理怀疑之外证明转移的理由是欺骗该特定债权人,并且该成员因此破产。 此外,计算包括会员在LLC中的权益的整个公平市场价值。 因此,如果成员资产的公允市场价值大于转让时债权人的索赔金额,法院不认为转移是以欺诈意图进行的。

尼维斯岛
从加勒比海的尼维斯的看法

总结

总而言之,除非客户说“是的,我将我的资产存放在尼维斯有限责任公司,以使他们远离你,债权人先生”,并给出一些其他合理的理由移动资金,合理的怀疑法规应该足以防止针对LLC的收费令。 即使债权人收到针对LLC的收费令,该法规也几乎无法获得公司资产。

越早将资产投入尼维斯有限责任公司就越好。 原因是债权人对成员的利益提出索赔有两年的诉讼时效。 对于提起诉讼的人来说,更为痛苦的是,债权人必须在提交前向法院预先发布(例如,$ 100,000)现金债券。 因此,尼维斯有限责任公司的法规充满了多重障碍,以防止债权人获得成员的资产。

FREE Consultation
GET MORE INFORMATION
input form

contact-pic

Real Answers by Real Professionals.

Get help to the most commonly asked questions about any asset protection or offshore topic.

Any Business Day 8 to 8 Eastern

1-800-959-8819

Nevis LLCs

A Nevis LLC is a limited liability company formed under statutes enacted in the Caribbean island of Nevis. Nevis enacted LLC statutes in 1995 and amended them in 2015, further enhancing its asset protection features. Nevis is an island that makes up part of the Federation of Saint Kitts and Nevis. Nevis is located about 1300 miles southeast of Florida and about 300 miles east of Puerto Rico. It has, since 1984 when government enacted the Nevis Business Corporation Ordinance, promoted itself as an asset protection haven.

   

So, let’s get straight to the point and talk about the 10 main benefits of a Nevis LLC. The following section is a list of the benefits. Afterwards, you will find a detailed explanation of each item.

10 Benefits of a Nevis LLC

  1. Members of both multi-member or single member Nevis LLC are protected from losing their companies or the assets inside from personal lawsuits. This is called, called “charging order” protection. (This is not the case for US LLCs in 48 of the 50 states, as of this writing.)
  2. Transferring assets to a Nevis LLC does not trigger tax consequences associated with most other types of offshore companies.
  3. Two years after assets are placed inside of a Nevis LLC – courts will refuse to hear a case brought for the purpose of seizing charting a member’s interest.
  4. One must post a $100,000 bond in Nevis courts before filing a lawsuit associated with a Nevis LLC.
  5. Proof beyond a reasonable doubt is required in Nevis for fraudulent transfer accusations. (This is a very high legal hurdle.)
  6. There is not a limit to the number of members one can add to the LLC.
  7. US Bankruptcy courts cannot touch Nevis LLC assets when properly structured (unlike US LLCs).
  8. Unlike US LLCs, Nevis courts do not allow foreclosure of a member’s interest in the company.
  9. If someone has a lien against someone’s ownership interest in an LLC, someone else (spouse or children, for example) can obtain his interest free from the lien.
  10. US courts constantly rule that inter-company agreements such as operating agreements, and transfers of membership interest mentioned above, should be interpreted in the courts where company was formed rather than where the LLC members live.

Nevis LLC Laws

Establishing an LLC offshore can provide as additional layer of asset protection over US LLCs. This is because the assets, if held in a foreign account in the company name, are outside the reach of US courts. Plus some foreign jurisdictions have LLC statutes that offer superior asset protection compared to US statutes.

The Island of Nevis, in particular, enacted favorable LLC laws in 1995. A US person, in turn, can use a Nevis LLC plus an offshore bank account or investment account as a way to help protect the funds from domestic lawsuits. Alternatively, one can use the company to run a business in the United States. Doing the latter is just a matter forming a company and then filing foreign qualification papers in the state where one wishes to operate.

The Nevis legislature amended the Ordinance in 2015, which further increased the asset protection benefits of a Nevis LLC. First of all, Nevis allows single member limited liability companies the same protection as multi-member ones, unlike the majority of US states. That is, Nevis law establishes a charging order lien as a creditor’s exclusive remedy to attack a debtor’s ownership interest in a Nevis LLC formation even the LLC is only owned by one person. That is, someone with a judgment against the owner of a Nevis LLC cannot take the LLC nor the assets inside.

answers

Better yet, if a US person or company has the charging order, the person holding the charging order is required to pay taxes on that portion of member’s the profits made inside the company whether they receive the distributions or not (Rev. Rul. 77-137). This is because the one who has the right to receive the distributions is the one responsible for the tax bill, whether the profits are actually distributed or not. One more time, yes, the one who sued you would now be responsible for paying your Nevis LLCs tax bill, even if you decide not to make distributions to them from your company. Charging order liens in Nevis expire after three years and are not renewable.

Nevis Hotel Grounds
Nevis Hotel Grounds (All pictures except map taken by our management team.)

 

Operating a Nevis LLC

A US citizen transferring assets to an offshore single member LLC does not trigger tax consequences that would normally be linked to the transfer of assets to other types of offshore entities.  Nevis does not recognize foreign judgments. Management in our Nevis office knows of no case where a US creditor has ever obtained a charging order lien through Nevis courts to enable them to enforce a judgment from the US.

It gets even better. The 2015 amendment reduced the fraudulent transfer statute of limitations in Nevis to only two years. That means, once you transfer assets into a Nevis LLC, two years later the courts will refuse to hear the case. Even better, the creditor must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the debtor transferred assets to a Nevis LLC to hinder or delay creditors. Informing the courts that you simply moved assets into the Nevis LLC to diversify internationally may cast enough reasonable doubt against fraudulent transfer accusations to keep creditors at bay. Moreover, the 2015 amendment makes a creditor post a $100,000 bond before filing legal documents to enforce a judgment against a Nevis LLC member.

Nevis

 

On the other hand, US courts consistently hold that creditors can foreclose a debtor’s interest in a US single member LLC through US state court proceedings. US LLCs have the charging order lien protection as well. However, US courts consistently break through the protection afforded by US LLC statutes. Not in Nevis.

How does this help in US court? Additional amendments made in 2015 to Nevis LLC statutes can be very beneficial to defend assets held therein from attacks in US courts. The 2015 amendment to the Nevis LLC statutes possess verbiage protecting members who have charging order liens on their interest in the company. That member’s interest may be obtained by the other LLC members who do not have liens on their membership. For example, let’s suppose a company is owned by a husband, wife and two children. The father gets a judgment against himself and his interest in the LLC obtains a charging order. The wife or children can obtain his interest in the LLC free from the charging order. Alternatively, he can redeem his own interest in the LLC with other assets, including assets that are exempt from judgment creditors.

Nevis

 

In addition, the new statutes provide that even if a member has a charging order, he can still contribute additional capital. Plus, if there are two or more members, the member that is free to make distributions may do so without the need to make distributions to the charged member that would result in seizure of that portion of the distribution.

Nevis
Nevis

 

The two prior conditions have to do with the inner workings of the LLC and its members. In just about all US jurisdictions, issues having to do with inner-company matters and among the LLC members are regulated by the jurisdiction where the entity was formed and not by where the members or owners live.

Nevis
Nevis

 

Nevis LLC Administration

 

A US person operating a Nevis LLC may need to do a simple, one-time filing of the IRS Form 8832. Whereas, by default, US single-member LLCs receive sole-proprietor or “disregarded entity” tax treatment and multi-member LLCs are taxed as partnerships, offshore LLCs need to file the 8832. As such, a Nevis LLC is considered tax-neutral and should have no effect on taxation to the US person. Nonetheless, so we don’t appear to be giving tax advice, we recommend consulting with a CPA who is experienced with offshore structures.

Another nice feature of the Nevis LLC is that members or managers do not have to live in Nevis. For example, the manager of a Nevis LLC may be a member and may also be a debtor with a judgment against himself or herself. That person may live in the Unites States or any other county on the globe. If someone has a judgment, that person can have a significant amount of control over the Nevis LLC, which can hold assets in any country. The Nevis LLC can hold assets in the US, Nevis or anywhere else. The Nevis LLC may have a bank account in California, Nevis, Switzerland or elsewhere.

Nevis
Nevis

 

Whereas it is possible, it is not optimal from an asset protection standpoint if a judgment debtor is also the manager of his own Nevis LLC. It is better to appoint a manager who lives outside of the US. Since US courts do not have jurisdiction over offshore LLC managers, a US judge cannot successfully enforce an order for the foreign person to send the funds back to the US.  So, a properly drafted operating agreement will not allow a judgement debtor to remove a foreign manager, otherwise a US judge could order him to do so. Our Nevis affiliate organization is licensed and bonded by an insurance company to act in the best interest of clients. So, if the assets have a 100% chance of being seized by a creditor if they remain in the US, two choices come to mind. Option one is to do nothing and let someone seize your hard-earned assets. Option two is to temporarily have a company take the reigns that has gone through the intensive backgrounds checks necessary to obtain a Nevis license and whose actions are backed by an insurance company.  In which scenario are the odds more in your favor? For those who do not have trusted friends or family members residing abroad, there are very reputable, longstanding trustee companies that have never taken a client’s money that can step in as initial co-managers or successor managers who can protect you when the “bad thing” happens. 

Nevis LLC - Monkey Crossing Sign
Nevis

 

The ultimate asset protection arrangement involves an asset protection trust in Nevis or the more popular jurisdiction of the Cook Islands. In this arrangement, the offshore trusts holds all of the membership interest in the Nevis LLC. The client (and/or his or her spouse) is the beneficiary of the trust and is the manager of the Nevis LLC. The Nevis LLC, in turn, holds one or more bank accounts. The client is the signature on the bank account. When the bad thing happens, the trustee of the trust can step in as manager of the LLC, putting the client in a position of impossibility if a local judge orders him to repatriate the funds. There is no “fraudulent transfer” of assets when the position of manager changes because there are no assets being transferred. Only a position in the company changes.

Nevis
Nevis

 

When choosing a trustee, it is important to make sure that it is someone you can trust. If the trustee has a license in Nevis or the Cook Islands you can rest assured that the government has run significant background checks on its officers,  directors and owners. In addition, the trust companies are regularly audited and scrutinized by their local regulators. Because a sizable amount of the revenue in these jurisdictions comes from the offshore services industry, these countries work very hard to uphold the reputation of their respective jurisdictions. Incidentally, you will discover that the offshore management companies run a much more thorough background check on you than you will on them. They want to make sure they are doing business with reputable individuals operating with legal sources of funds. Maintaining their licenses depend on it.  

Nevis
Nevis

 

What you will find is that when you have a legal emergency and you want a Nevis LLC provider to come to the rescue, they do not manage your assets for you directly. Just like a managed investment account in the US, they assign an investment professional at a money management firm to invest your money for you, with your guidance. So if you need to have a trustee step in as manager of your Nevis LLC, they employ a bank’s investment manager in Switzerland, for example to handle your investments. The investment firm will typically contact you, propose a portfolio, and then seek your input. 

So, like US managed accounts, you let the manager know your risk tolerances and the institution will come up with a proposal for you to approve within the Nevis LLC. So you can have them choose the appropriate mix of stock, bonds, precious metals and/or interest-bearing investments to meet your comfort level. In the case of Switzerland, a banker from that jurisdiction will often eventually fly in to meet with you personally when he is in the area visiting other clients. You will have online access to your account so you can check your investments. You may also receive paper statements and investment confirmations from your Nevis LLC account if you request them.

Advantages of a Nevis LLC

There are multiple Nevis LLC advantages, including the following:

  • Exempt from Nevis taxes
  • Inexpensive initial formation and annual maintenance
  • Can be established within 24 hours
  • Can operate a business in the US or other jurisdiction.
  • Does not require paid-up capital
  • The company is protected from seizure by a judgment creditor
  • The assets inside of the company are protected from a judgment against a member.
  • Single-member LLCs are legal
  • Single-member LLCs receive the same asset protection as multi-member LLCs
  • Members (owners) and managers (those who run the company) are not filed in the public records
  • A manager of the LLC can control 100% of the company
  • A manager is not required to be an owner yet can control 100% of the company and its assets.
  • A person or legal entity from any country can be a manager or member.
  • There are not any foreign exchange controls
  • Can merge with an LLC from another jurisdiction
  • A US corporation or LLC may convert to becoming a Nevis LLC

Nevis LLC Legislation

 

The Nevis LLC is created under the Nevis Limited Liability Company Ordinance 1995 and as amended in 2015. The statutes were originally based on the company statutes in the very favorable US State of Delaware.

The Nevis Limited Liability Company (Amendment) Ordinance, 2015 (the “Ordinance”) was enacted on July 1, 2015. There were two major asset protection revisions. First, there was a restatement of the section dealing with charging orders. Second, there was a new section added regarding fraudulent transfers.

Nevis
Nevis

 

The main change to the charging order section is that the charging order is the sole remedy that is available to any judgment creditor (including a bankruptcy trustee). That is whether the Nevis LLC has only one or has multiple members, Nevis courts will not allow seizure of the LLC or the assets held therein. Moreover, the charging order is not allowed to include amounts that arise from fines, penalties or punitive damages.

The charging order against a Nevis LLC is not considered a lien on that member’s interest in the company. The one who has the charging order may not jump in and become a member, so the original owner retains his ownership. They cannot exercise the rights of any member. The holder of the order cannot interfere with any management decisions.  They cannot liquidate or seize any assets of the company.  They cannot restrict the company’s activities. They cannot dissolve the entity.  

Nevis
Nevis

 

Unlike a US judgment that typically lasts for 10 years with a 10 year renewal (for a total of 20 years), a Nevis LLC charging order is not renewable and has to expire after three (3) years after it is filed. Moreover, the company can continue to seek additional investments from its members and can hold onto the distributions that would usually go to the the charged member.

In Section 43A, a new statement was added dealing with fraudulent transfers into the company. This section addresses creditors who try to seize assets that a judgment debtor has transferred into the company.  Taking after Nevis and Cook Islands trust law, this section says that a creditor needs to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the reason for the transfer was to defraud that particular creditor and that the member, thereby, was made insolvent. Moreover, the calculation includes the entire fair market value of the member’s interest in the LLC.  So, if the fair market value of the member’s assets were greater than the amount of the creditor’s claim when the transfer was made, the courts do not consider the transfer to have been made with fraudulent intent.

Island of Nevis
View of Nevis from the Caribbean Sea

 

In summary, unless the client says, “Yes I put my assets in the Nevis LLC in order to keep them away from you Mr. Creditor,” and gives some other legitimate reason for moving the funds, the reasonable doubt statute should suffice to prevent a charging order against the LLC. Even if a creditor receives a charging order against the LLC, the statutes make it virtually impossible to obtain company assets.

The sooner one puts assets into a Nevis LLC the better. The reason is that there is a two year statute of limitations for a creditor to file claim against a member’s interest. Even more painful for the one filing the lawsuit, a creditor is required to post a $100,000 cash bond up front with the courts before filing.  So, the Nevis LLC statutes are riddled with multiple barriers to prevent creditors from getting to a member’s assets.