离岸公司信息

经验丰富的专业人士的真实答案

询问有关离岸银行业务,公司组建,资产保护和相关主题的问题。

立即致电24 Hrs./Day
如果顾问很忙,请再打电话。
1-800-959-8819

最佳离岸信托资产保护管辖权

最佳离岸信托资产保护

资产保护是财务责任的重要组成部分。 责任是开展业务的副产品。 几乎所有的商人都面临着可能的诉讼请求。 医疗保健和建筑等高负债领域的从业者风险更大。 资产保护信托 作为最好的法律工具之一,它已经赢得了声誉。 此外,判例法反复表明离岸信托比国内同行更有效。 我们将讨论资产保护信托的功能,离岸原因以及下面世界上最好的离岸管辖区。

资产保护信托

资产保护信托如何运作?

我们在这里讨论的资产保护信托类型是不可撤销的自我解决的挥霍信托。 不可撤销信托是指委托人和/或受益人与受托人之间未经合作而无法修改或终止的信托。 从技术上讲,信托的委托人取消了他们对信托资产所有权的合法权利。 自我解决的信托是委托人充当信托受益人的信托。 信托的委托人将信托资产的控制权交给受托人。 在某些司法管辖区,委托人可以担任共同受托人。 因此,根据司法管辖区,委托人对受益人的资产分配具有一定程度的影响力。

受托人必须控制对财产授予人的分配。 这是因为如果受益人可以独立分配资产,法院可以强迫他或她的手将其分配给债权人。 因此,信托保护了由于这种权力限制而从债权人那里持有的资产。 由于委托人和受益人无法控制自己的分配,法院不能随时强迫他们向他人分配。

有许多司法管辖区提供资产保护信托。 我们将这些信托称为美国国内资产保护信托基金。 目前,美国的17州允许使用国内资产保护信托。

离岸资产保护信托,例如位于库克群岛和尼维斯的信托,提供了许多好处,使其更适合国内资产保护信托。 我们在下面讨论原因。

离岸信托

为何建立离岸信托?

许多顶级离岸司法管辖区都有法律支持资产保护信托提供的保护。 以下优势使离岸信托成为可用于资产保护的最佳法律工具之一:

财务隐私

在许多有利的离岸司法管辖区,资产保护信托的结算属于私事。 在这些司法管辖区,信托,本身以及受益人和定居者的姓名不会被公开记录。 信托的名称,受托人的姓名以及信托契约的日期已经过注册。 这些司法管辖区的记录不向公众开放。 在查看记录之前,必须获得当地法院关于有效索赔的命令,例如欺诈性转移。 财务隐私是资产保护的重要第一步。 避免炫耀显示财富减少了债权人或渴望金钱的诉讼当事人将您视为轻松牺牲品的风险。 然而,最终,仅靠隐私是不够的。 一旦工作表被取消,最佳离岸信托管辖区也提供强有力的保护性立法。

保护外国判决

有利的离岸司法管辖区不承认外国法院的判决。 那些希望对离岸信托中持有的资产提出索赔的人必须通过当地法院系统这样做。 这往往涉及到实际到法院出庭的人。 此外,少数可以抵消离岸资产保护信托保护的索赔之一是欺诈性转让裁决。 顺便说一下,欺诈性转移是一种民事问题,而不是一种犯罪问题。

当信托的委托人转移资产意图故意拖延或欺诈债权人时,就会发生欺诈性的资产转移。 在离岸司法管辖区提出此类索赔的相关成本和时间通常足以阻止债权人。 此外,在库克群岛,尼维斯或伯利兹等司法管辖区内获得欺诈性转移裁决的债权人说起来容易做起来难; 更容易。 事实上,我们是世界上建立离岸信托的最大组织。 我们从未见过债权人在海外对我们建立的任何离岸信托取得这样的裁决。

限制法规

简短的限制法规

离岸资产保护信托管辖区通常提供比大多数国内资产保护信托管辖区更短的法定时效。 此外,在离岸司法管辖区,欺诈性转移索赔的举证责任要高得多。 举证责任由债权人承担。 在许多国内司法管辖区,欺诈性转移的举证责任是明确且令人信服的证据。 在有利的离岸司法管辖区,举证责任超出合理怀疑范围。 债权人必须提供相同数量的证据,以证明某人犯有欺诈性移交罪,以便将谋杀罪定罪。

例如,在库克群岛,必须在建立和资助信托的一年内提出欺诈性转移索赔。 此外,他们必须在行动起因的两年内提出。 也就是说,有人提起诉讼的原因。 如果有人在此时间范围内在库克群岛提起欺诈性运输诉讼,法院将拒绝审理此案。 我们在这里要清楚。 即使有人击败时钟并及时提交案件,但障碍是如此之高,以至于我们从未见过我们的客户对债权人失去信托资产。

离岸信托如何运作

有利于税收筹划

许多有利的司法管辖区为国际信托提供免税。 这可以使离岸信托成为税收筹划的有吸引力的工具。 这取决于委托人和受益人的管辖权。 美国人民对全球收入征税。 因此,对于美国人来说,信托是税收中立的。 税收没有增加或减少。 因此,对于美国公民来说,信任就像防弹玻璃一样。 诉讼子弹没有渗透。 然而,税收通过玻璃光照射。

由Settlors保留控制权

最佳司法管辖区的离岸信托为调解人提供了对信托资产保持更大程度控制的潜力。 实现这一目标的一种方法是与离岸信托公司一起建立离岸有限责任公司。 离岸信托完全拥有LLC。 一个人将资产转移到LLC拥有的一个或多个银行和/或投资账户。 然后,委托人被任命为LLC的首席经理。 因此,他们能够控制信托所拥有的公司的日常职能。 这包括控制公司持有的资产的能力。

当诉讼威胁资产时,人们不需要改变资产。 只是改变了LLC的管理层。 受托人还担任有限责任公司的经理。 因此,当地方法院要求遣返信托基金时,他们对外国受托人没有管辖权。 在我们的案例中,我们的库克群岛或尼维斯律师事务所介入以保护信托资产。 资产保留在信托所拥有的LLC中。 因此,没有欺诈性的资产转移,只有管理层的变化。

离岸银行账户风险

法律胁迫期间的保护

离岸信托可以成为在法律胁迫下保护资产的有效工具。 这是因为离岸信托将信托内部资产的法律和实益利益分开。 由于信托的委托人可能无法控制资产的分配,因此可以保护这些资产免受债权人的侵害。 此外,当信托的委托人受到法律胁迫时,禁止离岸信托的受托人分配债权人可以扣押的资产。 但是,受托人可以代表委托人支付账单。 他们也可以代表委托人向可信赖的朋友或亲戚分配资产。

有利于继任计划

一些有利的离岸司法管辖区没有违反永久信托的规定。 因此,离岸信托为房地产规划提供了很好的工具。 因此,信托的未来提供了几代人的支持。 此外,离岸司法管辖区不承认外国继承法。

库克群岛旗帜

库克群岛:最佳离岸信托管辖区

在解决离岸信托方面,管辖权就是一切。 首先,信托受其所在司法辖区的法律管辖。 因此,选择一个有利于资产保护的法律的司法管辖区是至关重要的。 其次,一个司法管辖区的法律与执行这些法律的政府一样强大。 因此,还必须考虑一个司法管辖区的发展状况,政府稳定性和经济适应性。 库克群岛将世界上最强大的资产保护法与稳定的政府和稳定的经济相结合。 出于这些原因,库克群岛被广泛认为是世界上最好的资产保护信托管辖区。

库克群岛位于夏威夷和新西兰之间的南太平洋。 在1770中,库克船长看到了他们的名字。 库克群岛成为1888的英国保护国。 这些岛屿的行政控制权已在新西兰国立大学通过新西兰。 自1900以来,库克群岛一直是自治的。 库克群岛是新西兰的一个自由联合州。

库克群岛的国内生产总值接近100万美元。 关于300%的GDP来自国际商业和信托。 库克群岛最大的部门是旅游业。 这是该国美丽的海滩和充满活力的文化的结果。 英语国家由8独立岛屿组成。 它们构成了大约15平方英里的陆地面积。

离岸资产保护战略

库克群岛信托的优势

库克群岛相对于其他资产保护司法管辖区的最大优势之一是法律先例。 如果地方法院维护资产,资产保护法只会保护资产。 简单地假设法院将维护资产保护法是一种危险的游戏。 在许多资产保护信托管辖区,特别是新成立的资产保护信托法的国内司法管辖区,资产保护没有法律先例。

法律先例对于确保资产在受到法律胁迫的情况下受到保护是绝对必要的。 该 库克群岛信任 拥有世界上任何司法管辖区最好的资产保护判例法历史。 库克群岛法院已经审理了数千起有关资产保护的案件。 一次又一次,这些法院已经裁定代表委托人保护资产。 因此,库克群岛资产保护信托的调解人可以放心,他们的资产将受到债权人的保护。

选择资产保护信托管辖区时,声誉也很重要。 一些离岸信托管辖区因跨国公司用来逃税而受到安全保障。 更糟糕的是,一些司法管辖区与用于资助恐怖主义活动或洗钱有关。 库克群岛设法摆脱了这种审查。 库克群岛为资产保护信托提供者提供合法保护其资产的能力。 它允许他们这样做,而不会造成参与任何令人讨厌的金融活动的外观。

总结

资产保护信托是保护资产免受债权人和债务侵害的最佳方式之一。 基于以上原因,我们的经验表明,在库克群岛定居的离岸资产保护信托提供了全球最佳的资产保护。

Offshore Company Information

Real Answers by Experienced Professionals

Ask questions about offshore banking, company formation, asset protection and related topics.

Call Now 24 Hrs./Day
If consultants are busy, please call again.

1-800-959-8819

Best Offshore Trust Jurisdiction for Asset Protection

Best Offshore Trust Asset Protection

Asset protection is a critical part of financial responsibility. Liability is a byproduct of doing business. Nearly all businesspeople face possible lawsuit claims. Practitioners in high-liability fields such as healthcare and construction are at even greater risk. Asset protection trusts have gained a reputation for being one of the best legal tools available. Moreover, case law repeatedly shows that offshore trusts are more effective than their domestic counterparts. We discuss the function of asset protection trusts, the reasons for going offshore, and the world’s best offshore jurisdiction below.

Asset Protection Trust

How Does An Asset Protection Trust Work?

The type of asset protection trusts we discuss here are irrevocable self-settled spendthrift trusts. An irrevocable trust is a trust which a settlor cannot modify or terminate without cooperation between the settlor and/or beneficiaries and trustee. Technically speaking, the settlor of the trust removes their legal right to ownership of the assets placed in the trust. A self-settled trust is a trust in which the settlor acts as a trust beneficiary. The settlor of the trust places control of the trust assets into the hands of the trustee. In some jurisdictions, the settlor may act as a co-trustee. As a result, depending on the jurisdiction, the settlor has a degree of influence over distributions of assets made to the beneficiaries.

It is imperative that the trustee controls distributions made to the settlor. This is because if the beneficiary could independently distribute assets the courts could force his or her hand to distribute them to creditors. Thus, the trust shields assets held in the trust from creditors as a result of this restriction of power. Since the settlor and beneficiaries cannot control distributions to themselves, the courts cannot readily force them to make distributions to others.

There are a number of jurisdictions which offer asset protection trusts.  We call these trusts settled in the United States domestic asset protection trusts. Domestic asset protection trusts are currently allowed in 17 states in the United States.

Offshore asset protection trusts, such as those located in the Cook Islands and Nevis, provide a number of benefits which make them preferable to domestic asset protection trusts. We discuss the reasons why below.

offshore trust

Why Set Up An Offshore Trust?

Many of the top offshore jurisdictions have laws which serve to support the protection afforded by asset protection trusts. The following benefits make offshore trusts one of the best legal tools available for asset protection:

Financial Privacy

In many favorable offshore jurisdictions, the settling of asset protection trusts is a private matter. In these jurisdictions, the trust, itself, and the names of beneficiaries and settlers are not publicly recorded. The name of the trust, the trustees’ names, and the date of the trust deed are registered. Records in these jurisdictions are not open to the public. One must obtain a local court order for a valid claim, such as fraudulent transfer, before viewing records. Financial privacy is an important first step for asset protection. Avoiding ostentatious displays of wealth reduces the risk creditors or money-hungry litigants viewing you as easy prey. In the end, however, privacy alone is not enough. Once the sheet is lifted, the best offshore trust jurisdictions offer strong protective legislation as well.

Protection From Foreign Judgments

Favorable offshore jurisdictions do not recognize the judgments of foreign courts.  Those who wish to make claims against assets held in an offshore trust must do so through the local court system. This often involves physically traveling to the jurisdiction to appear in court. Additionally, one of the few claims which can nullify the protection of an offshore asset protection trust is a fraudulent transfer ruling. Fraudulent transfer, by the way, is a civil matter, not a criminal one.

Fraudulent transfer of assets occurs when the settlor of a trust transfers assets with the intent to knowingly delay or defraud a creditor. The cost and time associated with making such a claim in an offshore jurisdiction is usually enough to deter creditors. Moreover, a creditor obtaining a fraudulent transfer ruling in a jurisdiction such as the Cook Islands, Nevis or Belize is easier said than done; much easier. In fact, we are the largest organization in the world that establishes offshore trusts. We have never seen a creditor obtain a such a ruling overseas against any offshore trust we have established.

Statute of Limitations

Short Statute of Limitations

Offshore asset protection trust jurisdictions generally offer shorter statutes of limitations than most domestic asset protection trust jurisdictions. Additionally, the burden of proof for fraudulent transfer claims is much higher in offshore jurisdictions. The burden of proof is placed upon the creditor. In many domestic jurisdictions, the burden of proof for fraudulent transfer is clear and convincing evidence. In favorable offshore jurisdictions, the burden of proof is beyond a reasonable doubt. A creditor must provide the same amount of evidence to convict a person of fraudulent transfer as would be needed to convict a person of murder.

For example in the Cook Islands one must bring a fraudulent transfer claim within one year of the trust being established and funded. Additionally, they must bring it within two years of the cause of action. That is, the reason why someone filed the lawsuit. If someone files a fraudulent conveyance lawsuit in the Cook Islands after this timeframe, the courts will refuse to hear the case. Let’s be clear here. Even if someone beats the clock and timely files the case, the barriers are so high that we have never seen our client lose trust assets to a creditor.

How Offshore Trusts Work

Beneficial for Tax Planning

Many favorable jurisdictions provide a tax exemption for international trusts. This can make offshore trusts an attractive tool for tax planning. This varies by the jurisdiction of the settlor and beneficiaries. U.S. people are taxed on worldwide income. So, for the U.S. person the trust is tax-neutral. There is no increase or decrease in taxation. Thus, for the U.S. citizen, the trust acts as bulletproof glass. The lawsuit bullets don’t penetrate. However, the taxes shine through as does light through the glass.

Retention of Control By Settlors

Offshore trusts in the best jurisdictions offer settlors the potential to maintain a greater degree of control over trust assets. One way to do this is by establishing an offshore limited liability company in conjunction with an offshore trust. The offshore trust wholly owns the LLC. One transfers assets into one or more bank and/or investment accounts that the LLC own. The settlor is then named the initial manager of the LLC. As a result, they are able to control the day-to-day functions of the company that the trust own. This includes the ability to control the assets which are held by the company.

When litigation threatens the assets, one does not need to shuffle assets. There is simply a change of management of the LLC. The trustee takes an additional role as manager of the LLC. So, when the local courts demand repatriation of trust funds, they do not have jurisdiction over the foreign trustee. In our case, our law firm the Cook Islands or Nevis steps in to protect trust assets. The assets remain in the LLC that the trust owns.  So, there is no fraudulent conveyance of assets, only a management change.

Offshore Bank Account Risks

Protection During Legal Duress

Offshore trusts can be effective tools for protecting assets while under legal duress. This is because offshore trusts separate the legal and beneficial interest of assets held within the trust. Since the settlor of the trust may not control distributions of assets to themselves, it can protect those assets from creditors. Additionally, the trustees of offshore trusts are prohibited from distributing assets that a creditor can seize when the settlor of the trust is under legal duress. The trustee may, however, pay bills on behalf of the settlor. They may also be able to make distributions of assets to a trusted friend or relative on behalf of the settlor.

Beneficial for Succession Planning

A number of favorable offshore jurisdictions have no rule against perpetual trusts. As a result, offshore trusts make great tools for estate planning. As a result, future of the trust provide support across several generations. Additionally, offshore jurisdictions do not recognize foreign inheritance laws.

Cook Islands Flag

Cook Islands: The Best Offshore Trust Jurisdiction

When it comes to settling an offshore trust, jurisdiction is everything. First and foremost, trusts are subject to the laws of the jurisdiction where they are established. As a result, it is essential to choose a jurisdiction with laws that are favorable for asset protection. Second, the laws of a jurisdiction are only as powerful as the government that enforces them. For this reason, one must also consider the developmental status, government stability, and economic fitness of a jurisdiction. The Cook Islands combines the world’s strongest asset protection laws with a stable government and steady economy. For these reasons, the Cook Islands are widely considered to be the best asset protection trust jurisdiction in the world.

The Cook Islands can be found in the South Pacific Ocean between Hawaii and New Zealand. They were  sighted by Captain Cook in 1770, which is how they received their name. The Cook Islands became a British protectorate in 1888. Administrative control of the islands was passed to New Zealand in 1900. The Cook Islands have been self-governed since 1985. Cook Islands is an associated state of New Zealand under free association.

The Cook Islands have a GDP of nearly US$ 300 million. About 8% of this GDP is derived from international business and trusts. The largest sector in the Cook Islands is tourism. This is a result of the country’s beautiful beaches and vibrant culture. The English-speaking nation is composed of 15 separate islands. They make up a land area of roughly 92 square miles.

Offshore Asset Protection Strategies

Cook Islands Trust Advantages

One of the greatest advantages that the Cook Islands has over other asset protection jurisdictions is legal precedent. Asset protection laws will only work to protect assets if local courts uphold them. Simply assuming that the courts will uphold asset protection laws is a dangerous game. In many asset protection trust jurisdictions, especially domestic jurisdiction with newly formed asset protection trust laws, there is no legal precedent for asset protection.

Legal precedent is absolutely essential in order to make sure that assets will be protected in the event of legal duress. The Cook Islands trust has the best asset protection case law history of any jurisdiction in the world. Literally thousands of cases regarding asset protection have been tried in Cook Islands courts. Time and time again, these courts have ruled in favor of protecting assets on behalf of the settlor. As a result, settlors of Cook Islands asset protection trusts can rest assured that their assets will be shielded from creditors.

Reputation is also important when choosing an asset protection trust jurisdiction. Some offshore trust jurisdictions have fallen under security for being used by multinational corporations to evade taxes. Even worse, some jurisdictions have been linked to use for the funding of terrorist activities or for money laundering. The Cook Islands have managed to escape this scrutiny. The Cook Islands offers settlors of asset protection trusts the ability to legally protect their assets. It allows them to do so without creating the appearance of taking part in any unsavory financial activities.

Conclusion

Asset protection trusts are one of the best ways to protect assets from creditors and liabilities. For the above reasons, our experience shows that an offshore asset protection trust settled in the Cook Islands provides the best asset protection available worldwide.