离岸公司信息

经验丰富的专业人士的真实答案

询问有关离岸银行业务,公司组建,资产保护和相关主题的问题。

立即致电24 Hrs./Day
如果顾问很忙,请再打电话。
1-800-959-8819

离岸银行业务和资产保护

章节 6


离岸资产保护

很高兴将世界视为一个你可能永远不会遇到任何法律问题的好地方。 但是,如果你研究统计数据,你会发现很有可能在某些时候你最终会在你的手上提起诉讼。 超过一个。 律师杰伊·米滕(Jay Mitten)表示,美国普通人在其一生中遇到七起诉讼。 有了这个,一个不道德的律师会加油并煽风点火。

对于拥有自己企业的普通人来说,这种可能性更大。 因此,意外的诉讼 - 可能是无聊的企图抢夺您的财富 - 可能随时传递到您的家门口。 对大多数人来说,有一点是肯定的。 诉讼是通过企业还是个人事务进行并不重要。 这可能是离婚,甚至是税收问题。 无论何时在法庭上结束,您都希望您的资产或至少其中一些资产得到保护。 因此,许多人转向 离岸银行 结合适当的法律工具,保护他们的资产免受生活中这种不幸的危险。

离岸公司保护

为什么离岸银行?

那么,为什么人们开设离岸银行账户呢? 美国仅占世界人口的4.2%。 然而,它拥有全球律师的80%和全球诉讼的96%。 所以, 资产保护 这是美国人的游戏名称,因为这是对他们财务状况最严重的威胁。 大多数将个人资本迁出国外的人都把重点放在资产保护的概念上。 此外,他们认为有必要保护他们未来的潜在威胁 - 债权人,诉讼当事人和离婚。 大多数法律攻击都来自美国境内。

他们还倾向于使用离岸账户来减少他们的纳税。 这主要是来自其他国家的收入。 美国向全球人民征收全球收入。 然而,像苹果和谷歌这样的公司在海外提供资金支持并享受巨额税收优惠。 与美国不同,一些国家不对其公民征收全球收入税。 然而,每个人都无法利用这一点,因此首先寻求获得许可的税务建议。 再说一遍,不要只是想象一下你的想法中的“应该是这种方式”的税收策略。 获得许可的税务建议。

对于参与资产保护的人来说,他们经常将这些资产置于几个独立的小岛屿国家之一。 这些地区找到了一个有兴趣的外国人准备离岸银行服务的市场。 其中许多国家都制定了免除判决资产的立法。 此外,一些地区可以为投资这些帐户的人提供大量隐私。 当然,法律规定人们必须遵守自己国家的法律。

离岸资产保护

离岸资产保护

资产保护有时会采取多种形式。 虽然有很多在岸选择,但离岸车辆通常对资产保护的目标更为有效。 值得注意的是,离岸信托提供最大的资产保护。 请记住,如果你对采取这条路线感到内疚,那就不要了。 毕竟,这是我们正在谈论的资产 - 你努力获得的资产。

要知道,资产保护的核心不仅仅是风险管理。 这就像购买保险单; 通常更具保护性和成本效益。 如果你今天做生意,那么你就会明白赚取利润是多么困难。 因此,建立一个保护劳动成果并为你省钱的堡垒可能是一个明智的策略。

如果您经营多家企业,则不希望一家企业的索赔危及其他企业。 因此,您可能需要考虑每个业务的单个实体。 这种方法将每个企业都放在自己的小房间里。 这样,针对一家企业的诉讼不会推翻整个帝国。 此外,当您在海外这样做时,您可以最大限度地提高资产保护策略的实力。 那么,您对离岸资产保护的选择是什么?

资产保护

尼维斯和资产保护

尼维斯是现代首批提供资产保护和隐私法规的海上避风港之一。 这是尝试和平衡运营多个业务的风险的一种方法。 尼维斯的公司也可以抵御可能来自无良律师的偷袭行为。 使用诸如此类的公司组建服务,您可以建立离岸业务。 将其与来自全球各个司法管辖区的离岸信托和/或离岸基金会相结合可以帮助减轻限制。

专家经常推荐尼维斯离岸业务,因为他们的法律有利于隐私和资产保护。 在撰写本文时,Nevis LLC为任何离岸公司提供最有效的资产保护法规。

为什么尼维斯?

以下是一些原因 Nevis LLC (特别是与尼维斯信托结合使用时)是一种出色的资产保护工具:

  • 在提起诉讼以追究对Nevis LLC中一个人的会员权益的判决之前,需要提出$ 100,000债券。
  • 欺诈性转移 诉讼时效仅为两年。 这意味着,当你在两年后将资产投入尼维斯有限责任公司时,尼维斯法院将不会审理此案。
  • 在此之上, 债权人需要在合理怀疑之外证明尼维斯有限责任公司的所有人为有限责任公司提供资金以保留该债权人的资产。
  • 资产保护使债权人不能抓住债权人 公司或其拥有的资产除了多成员有限责任公司外,还授予单一成员。
  • 即使有人获得了收费令,它也会在三年后到期,债权人也无法续签。

比尼维斯有限责任公司更强大的是尼维斯资产保护。 更有说服力的是 尼维斯信任 是世界上最有效的资产保护工具之一。 当一个美国法院说“转钱”时,海外受托人说,“对不起,你在这里没有管辖权。”当我们建立尼维斯信托时,我们将Nevis LLC放入其中。 这样,当时间良好时,客户是LLC的经理。 然后,当他或她受到法律攻击时,受托人(我们在尼维斯的律师事务所)可以介入并激活资产保护堡垒。

伯利兹信托银行

伯利兹和资产保护

伯利兹提供离岸公司组建和离岸银行业务。 在尼维斯之后,它是资产保护和隐私的更好选择之一。 “如果必须的话,伯利兹是我隐藏我的钱和生活的国家之一,”联邦调查局金融犯罪科前负责人丹尼斯洛默尔说。 “事实是,我将受到保护,而(美国)政府可能无法引渡我或进入我的银行账户。”当然,只建议您使用离岸银行业务出于许多合法的法律目的之一。

在尼维斯之后,你 伯利兹最不发达国家 结合 伯利兹信任 是全球两种更强大的资产保护工具。 这就是原因。

为何选择伯利兹?

  • 资本捐助(用于建立最不发达国家的资金)免于债权人的欺诈性转移索赔。
  • 伯利兹最不发达国家欺诈性运输的诉讼时效非常短暂。 距离其成立和资助仅一年,或者从资产转入其中仅两年。

伯利兹信托基金会有类似的好处,甚至比最不发达国家更为强大。 通常我们在里面建立一个Belie LDC与Belize LDC。 与Nevis LLC一样,客户是伯利兹LDC的经理,直到“坏事”发生。 然后,当债权人发动攻击时,伯利兹的桁架就会介入并保护资产。 您当地的法院对伯利兹受托人没有管辖权。 因此,他们不能强迫受托人遵守。

伯利兹信托的欺诈性转移诉讼时效尽可能短。 对于离婚收益或继承索赔,诉讼时效为零。 也就是说,一旦将这些资产转移到信托中,信托就会保护它们。

库克群岛之盾

屏蔽你的资产

为了使您的资产免受不道德的律师索赔,您需要评估您的风险以及资产的价值和类型。 离岸金融规划提供了广泛的选择,这些选择在国内是不可用的。 首先,在您启动任何高级计划以保护您的个人资产之前,这里是做什么的。 首先,你必须确保你有一个伟大的,坚实的资产保护基础。

从本质上讲,您必须将资产置于适当的法律工具中。 此外,您必须选择适当的司法管辖区,以获得所需的保护。 您可以在位于不承认外国判决的司法管辖区内的银行的这些法律工具中使您的资产多样化。 建立相当简单快捷。 此外,通过这样做,您可以在开展国际业务时保护您的资产和身份。 让我们知道这些是你的愿望,我们会告诉你如何。

由数百家创建、维护和提供物联网(IoT)全球开放标准的公司所组成的 库克群岛信任 or 尼维斯信任 与信托内部的离岸LLC相结合是一个很好的组合。 如上所述,当美国法院要求您退回款项时,我们的离岸律师事务所可以拒绝遵守。

影子公司

影子金融保护公司

有趣的是,“论坛报评论”指出,全世界大约百分之五十的商业通过避税天堂。 离岸银行业务的一种避税方法是以公司名义获得私人银行账户。 因此,它可以防止任何想要存钱的人的钱。 这可能包括债权人,律师,前配偶或其他金融秃鹰。

澳大利亚格里菲斯大学的离岸银行学者杰森·沙曼说:“拥有一家匿名公司对于各种......活动来说非常方便,而且让一家匿名公司变得非常容易。” 使公司变得快速而简单。 事实上,这是我们的专长,在工作期间,我们公司每天都会组建离岸公司。 获得离岸公司的离岸银行账户可能需要更多的时间和精力。 因此,请从拥有该行业经验的人那里获得帮助。 同样,这也是我们每天都做的事情 - 帮助客户开设离岸账户。 当你这样做时,你可能会发现在保护自己免受金融攻击时非常值得。

一些离岸银行账户只需要几千美元的开户存款。 其他人,尤其是瑞士银行账户,需要相当数量的资金来筹集资金。 瑞士银行业 通常需要从$ 250,000到$ 1百万才能开立账户。

离岸信托

离岸信托资产保护

离岸资产保护计划在过去几年已成为争议的主题。 最好的资产保护计划是建立具有特殊任命权的不可撤销信托。 这是因为法律不将信托资产视为委托人的财产。 请记住,当您购买信托时,您不仅仅是购买信托。 此外,您正在购买撰写信托的个人经验。

为了保护您,专业人员必须根据法规和实际案例法经验正确起草。 所以,这不是你自己做的。 得到帮助。 毕竟,这是你的钱。 有许多形式的信托。 每种类型都有不同的目的或目标。

拥有离岸信托可能是您保护资产的最佳选择。 事实上,我们发现离岸信托是最强大的工具。

人们使用离岸信托不仅仅是避开普通债权人。 例如,他们为那些希望在工人赔偿案件中搜集财富的人这样做。 我们还可以使用它们来保护您的资产免受无良律师起诉汽车残骸,火灾造成的损失超过您的保险范围等。

与其他资产保护技术一样,最好在诉讼发生之前将信任置于工作之中。 这样,它可以最好地保护你。 是的,您可以将其用作诉讼后的堡垒。 但预先计划是理想的。 为此目的,离岸信托被起草为资产保护信托。 也就是说,最终目的是保护您的资产。

做什么离岸

什么不该做

虽然离岸信托可能提供资产保护计划机会,但您应明智地采用此选项。 您需要确保您的提供商有经验并正确地起草信任。 此外,与受托人有长期关系的组织应指导其创建。

将资产从美国转移到全球信托中以防止现有债权人收集可能是一个 欺诈性运输。 然而,这仅仅是一个通常不会产生刑事后果的民事问题。 这句话的一个更好的术语是“可撤销的交易”。事实上,这是统一法律委员会现在使用的准确短语。 这是因为这个词 欺诈 倾向于引导不知情的人认为比实际情况更严重。

瑞士银行税收

离岸银行税法

基本上,这类离岸投资账户有一个问题。 这是为了确保遵循美国的“避税天堂”法律。 这些法律包括确保做以下事情:

  1. 向IRS报告任何资产转移到外国信托。
  2. 美国人收到的离岸信托的分配可能会对该个人征税。
  3. 所有未分配的收益可以作为收入纳税。
  4. 计算过去几年可能产生的离岸信托的任何累计收益。 否则,分配可能导致美国人在这些年份缴纳所得税。 这就好像它是前几年的收入。 如果之前未报告收入,您可能需要支付罚金和利息。 最重要的是,离岸收益是税收中性的。 如果您将资金留在境外或境内,您不需要支付更多或更少的税款。
  5. 美国国税局将要求您(或您的注册会计师)提交简单的纳税表。 该表格阐明了信托内部资产的价值。 此外,您将命名信托的实际受益人。 如果您未能提交此报告,您可能会被罚款,其中包括$ 10,000延迟费用。 如果您未能完整地提交报告,则可能会更加繁重。 因此,请确保您的会计师完整并按时提交简单表格。

翻译

译文”

换句话说,美国国税局并不关心你是否有离岸账户。 一些离岸账户并没有引起“危险信号”,正如一些人错误地认为的那样。 他们只关心你报告你的收入。 无论您是在境内还是境外赚取利润,都要报告您的收入。 因此,对于美国国税局而言,它不在境外或境内。 无论收入何处发生,它都会报告您的收入。

离岸银行提示

离岸公司和信托税务小贴士

作为外国财产的设保人,转让人或遗嘱执行人,您应该了解一些重要的税务提示。 那些将资产转移到外国信托以及美国外国信托的受益人应该知道以下信息。 同样,如果您持有国外公司的外国资产,您还需要了解其他事项。 具体而言,如果您属于以下任何类别,请采取适当的措施:

  1. 您是拥有10%或更多离岸公司的股东。 此外,该公司超过一半的股票拥有五个或更少的美国所有者。
  2. 五个或更少的美国人参与了离岸公司的股票。 此外,该公司收入的60%及以上来自投资。
  3. 你有股东控制权 离岸公司 持有50%或更多资产作为投资资产。 此外,您正在以相似的投资收益赚取75%及以上的总收入。

以上是否属实? 如果是这样,您需要确保报告个人纳税申报表的收入。 因此,请务必咨询具有国际实体经验的注册会计师。 在这个舞台上知识渊博的大多数注册会计师都来自拥有大量富人的大城市。 来自肯塔基州Bugtussle的友好邻居CPA可能会超过他的头脑。 您仍然可以使用当地人或gal来获取基本申请。 但对于海外申请,请找一个知道领土的人。

总结

总结

显然,您应该睁大眼睛建立离岸资产保护信托。 它提供了一种将资产置于债权人可及范围之外的方法。 因此,通过明智的计划和对个人税务申报的认识,您可以做正确的事情。 此外,您可以将您的资产隐藏在无良律师之下。 请放心,有一些有效且有效的方法可以保护自己免受法律危险。 许多其他普通人每天都这样做。

Kristy Nelson博士


<至第5章

到第7章>

到开始

[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [奖金]

Offshore Company Information

Real Answers by Experienced Professionals

Ask questions about offshore banking, company formation, asset protection and related topics.

Call Now 24 Hrs./Day
If consultants are busy, please call again.
1-800-959-8819

Offshore Banking and Asset Protection

Chapter 6


offshore asset protection

It’s nice to think of the world as a kind place where you may never face any legal problems. However, if you study the statistics, you will find that there’s a good chance that at some point you will wind up with a lawsuit on your hands. More than one. According to attorney Jay Mitten, the average person in the US encounters seven lawsuits in his or her lifetime. With it, comes an unscrupulous lawyer adding fuel and fanning the flames of your problems.

This is even more likely for regular people who own their own businesses. As such, unexpected lawsuits—perhaps frivolous attempts to snatch your wealth—may be delivered to your doorstep at any time. One thing is certain for most people. It doesn’t matter whether a lawsuit comes through a business or personal matter. It could be a divorce, or even a tax issue. Whenever you wind up in court, you want your assets, or at least some of them, to remain protected. As such, many turn to offshore banking combined with the proper legal tool to protect their assets from such unfortunate perils in life.

Offshore Company Protection

Why Offshore Banking?

So, why do people open offshore bank accounts? The United States only has 4.2% of the world’s population. However, it has 80% of the world’s lawyers and 96% of the world’s lawsuits. So, asset protection is the name of the game for Americans as this is the most onerous threat to their finances. Most people moving personal capital out of the country are focused on the concept of asset protection. Plus, they feel it necessary to protect their gains potential future threats—creditors, litigants, and divorces. Most legal attacks come from inside the US.

They also tend to use offshore accounts to minimize their tax payments. This is mostly on earned income coming in from other countries. The US taxes its people on worldwide income. However, companies such as Apple and Google shield funds offshore and enjoy tremendous tax savings. Unlike the US, some countries do not tax their citizens on worldwide income. Everyone cannot take advantage of this, however, so seek licensed tax advice first. Again, don’t just wing it an invent an “it should be this way” tax strategy in your mind. Get licensed tax advice.

For people participating in asset protection, they often place these assets in one of the several small, independent island-states. These regions find a market of interested foreigners ready for offshore banking services. Many of these countries have legislation that exempts the assets from judgments. Plus, some regions can provide a good deal of privacy for those investing in these accounts. Naturally, the law obligates one to follow the laws of his or her own country.

offshore asset protection

Offshore Asset Protection

Asset protection sometimes takes quite a few forms. While there are lots of onshore choices, offshore vehicles are usually far more effective for the goal of asset protection. Notably, offshore trusts offer the utmost in asset protection. And remember, if you feel guilty at all about taking this route, don’t. After all, it’s your assets we are talking about—those you worked hard to acquire.

Know that at its core, asset protection isn’t anything more than risk administration. It is like buying an insurance policy; and usually much more protective and cost-effective. If you’re doing business today, then you understand how hard it is to earn a profit. Thus, erecting a fortress that both protects the fruits of your labor and saves you money is likely a wise maneuver.

If you operate more than one business you don’t want claims arising from one business to jeopardize the others. As such, you might want to think about an individual entity for each business. This approach puts each business into its own individual cubby hole. That way, a lawsuit against one enterprise won’t topple your entire empire. In addition, you maximize the strength of your asset protection strategy when you do so overseas. So, what are your options for offshore asset protection?

asset protection

Nevis and Asset Protection

Nevis was one of the first offshore havens in modern times to offer asset protection and privacy statutes. It is one way to try and balance out the risk of operating multiple businesses. Companies in Nevis can also ward off sneak attacks that may come from unscrupulous lawyers. Using a company formation service, such as this one, you can set up an offshore business. Combining it with an offshore trust and/or offshore foundation from various jurisdictions worldwide can help ease restrictions.

Experts often recommend Nevis offshore businesses because their laws favor privacy and asset protection. The Nevis LLC, as of this writing, offers the most effective asset protection statutes of any offshore company.

Why Nevis?

Here are some reasons why the Nevis LLC  (especially when combined with a Nevis trust) is an excellent asset protection tool:

  • One needs to put up a $100,000 bond before filing a lawsuit to pursue a judgment against one’s membership interest in a Nevis LLC.
  • The fraudulent transfer statute of limitations is a mere two years.  That means that when you put assets into a Nevis LLC, two years afterwards, Nevis the courts will not hear the case.
  • On top of this, creditor needs to prove beyond a reasonable doubt the owner of the Nevis LLC funded the LLC to keep the assets from that creditor.
  • Asset protection that keeps a creditor from seizing the company or the assets it holds is granted to single-member in addition to multi-member LLCs.
  • Even if one does obtain a charging order, it expires in three years and the creditor cannot renew it. 

Even more powerful than the Nevis LLC is the Nevis asset protection. To put it in stronger terms, the Nevis trust is one of the most effective asset protection tools in the world. When a US court says “turn over the money” the offshore trustee says, “sorry, you don’t have jurisdiction here.” When we establish a Nevis trust we put a Nevis LLC inside. That way, the client is the manager of the LLC when times are good. Then when he or she is hit with a legal attack, the trustee (our law firm in Nevis) can step in and activate the asset protection fortress.

Belize Trust Bank

Belize and Asset Protection

Belize offers offshore company formation and offshore banking. After Nevis, it is one of the better choices for asset protection and privacy. “Belize is one of the countries that I would go to hide my money and to live if I had to,” said Dennis Lormel, a former head of the FBI’s Financial Crimes Section. “The fact is that I’m going to be protected down there, and the (U.S.) government is probably not going to be able to extradite me or get into my bank accounts.” Naturally, it is only recommended that you use offshore banking for one of the many legitimate, legal purposes.

After Nevis, thee Belize LDC combined with the Belize trust are two of the more powerful asset protection tools worldwide. Here is why.

Why Belize?

  • Capital contributions (funds contributed to establish the LDC) are exempt from a fraudulent transfer claim from a creditor.
  • The statute of limitations on fraudulent conveyance for a Belize LDC  is very short. It is only one year from its established and funded or only two years from the time the asset was transferred into it.

The Belize trust has similar benefits and is even more powerful than the LDC. Usually we set up a Belie trust with a Belize LDC inside. As with the Nevis LLC, the client is the manager of the Belize LDC until the “bad thing” happens. Then when a creditor attacks, the Belize truste steps in and protects the assets. Your local courts do not have jurisdiction over Belize trustees. So, they cannot compel the trustee to comply.

The statute of limitations on fraudulent transfer for a Belize trust is as short as can be. For divorce proceeds or inheritance claims the statute of limitations is zero. That is, as soon as one transfers such assets into the trust, the trust protects them.

Cook Islands Shield

Shielding Your Assets

To insulate your assets from unscrupulous lawyer claims, you’ll need to evaluate your risk and the value and type of your assets. Offshore financial planning offers a vast range of choices which aren’t available domestically. To begin with, before you launch any advanced planning to shield your personal assets, here is what to do. First, you must make certain you have a great, solid asset protection foundation.

Essentially, you must place the assets into the proper legal tools. Moreover, you must select the proper jurisdictions in order to attain the desired protection. You can diversify your assets within these legal tools in banks located in jurisdictions that do not recognize foreign judgments. It’s fairly straightforward and quick to establish. In addition, by doing so you can safeguard your assets and identity when conducting business internationally. Let us know that these are your desires and we will show you how.

The Cook Islands trust or Nevis trust combined with an offshore LLC inside the trust is a good combination. As stated above, when the US courts demand that you bring the money back, our offshore law firm can refuse to comply.

shadow companies

Shadow Companies for Financial Protection

Interestingly, The Tribune-Review noted that around fifty percent of all of the world’s commerce makes its way through tax havens. One tax haven approach to offshore banking is getting a private bank account in a company name. As such, it shields money from just about anybody you wish to keep money from. This may include creditors, lawyers, ex-spouses, or other financial vultures.

“Having an anonymous company is really handy for a whole range of…activities, and getting an anonymous company is pretty easy,” said Jason Sharman, an offshore banking academic at Griffith University in Australia. Making a company can be fast and easy. In fact, this is our specialty and during the workdays, our firm forms offshore companies on a daily basis. Getting the offshore bank account for your offshore company can take a bit more time and effort. So get help from someone who has experience in the industry. Again, this is something we also do daily – helping clients open offshore accounts. When you do the same, you will likely find it very worthwhile when it comes to protecting yourself from a financial attack.

Some offshore bank accounts require just a couple thousand dollars for their opening deposits. Others, especially a Swiss bank account, needs a decent amount of money to fund. Swiss banking often requires from $250,000 to $1 million to open the account.

offshore trust

Offshore Trusts for Asset Protection

Offshore asset protection planning has become the subject of controversies the past few years. The very best asset protection plan is to make an irrevocable trust having a special power of appointment. This is because the law doesn’t consider trust assets as property of the Settlor. Keep in mind, when you buy the trust, you’re not just purchasing a trust. In addition, you are purchasing the experience of the individual writing the trust.

In order to protect you, a professional must draft it properly based on both statute and actual case law experience. So, this is not a do it yourselfer. Get help. After all, this is your money. There are many forms of trusts. Each type has distinctive purposes or goals.

Possessing an offshore trust just may be your best option in regards to safeguarding your assets. In fact, we have found the offshore trust the strongest tool available.

People use offshore trusts for more than avoiding the normal creditor. For example, they do it for someone looking to ransack their wealth in a workers compensation case. We can also use them to protect your assets from unscrupulous lawyers suing for a car wreck, a fire that does more damage than your insurance covers, etc.

As with other asset protection techniques , it is best to put the trust to work before a lawsuit strikes. That way, it is able to best safeguard you. Yes, you can use it as a post-lawsuit fortress. But pre-planning is ideal. An offshore trust, for this purpose, is drafted as an asset protection trust. That is, the end purpose is to guard your assets.

What To Do Offshore

What Not to Do

While offshore trusts may offer asset protection planning opportunities, you should approach this option wisely. You need to make sure your provider has experience and drafts the trust properly. Plus, an organization who has a longstanding relationship with the trustee should guide its creation.

Transferring assets out of the USA into a global trust to prevent a present creditor from collecting might be a fraudulent conveyance. However, this is merely a civil matter that generally holds no criminal consequences. A better term for this phrase is a “voidable transaction.” In fact, this is the precise phrase that the Uniform Law Commission now uses. This is because the word fraudulent tends to lead the uninformed to thinking that is more serious than it really is.

swiss bank taxation

Offshore Banking Tax Laws

Basically, there is one catch with these types of offshore investment accounts. That is to make sure to follow United States “tax haven” laws. These laws include making sure to do things like:

  1. Reporting any asset transfers into a foreign trust to the IRS.
  2. Distributions from an offshore trust that are received by an American can possibly be taxed to that individual.
  3. All undistributed earnings may be taxed as income.
  4. Account for any accumulated earnings in an offshore trust that may have been generated in prior years. Otherwise, a distribution may cause the American to pay income taxes on those years. This is just as if it were income earned in previous years. If the income was not reported previously, you may be required to pay both penalties and interest. The bottom line is that offshore earnings are tax neutral. You do not pay more or less in taxes if you hold your funds offshore or onshore.
  5. The IRS will ask you (or your CPA) to file a simple tax form. The form clarifies the value of the assets inside of the trust. In addition, you will name the actual beneficiaries of the trust. If you fail to file this report you may earn a fine, of among other things, a $10,000 late fee. If you fail to file the report altogether, it can get even more onerous. So, be sure to have your accountant complete and file the simple forms on time.

Translation

The “Translation”

In other words, the IRS does not care if you have an offshore account. Having an offshore account does not raise “red flags,” as some erroneously believe. They only care that you report your income. Whether you earn a profit onshore or offshore, report what you earn. So, it is not offshore or onshore that matters to the IRS. It is reporting your earnings that matters, no matter where those earnings occur.

offshore banking tips

Offshore Corporate and Trust Tax Tips

There are some important tax tips you should be aware of as grantor, transferor, or executor of a foreign estate.  Those moving assets into a foreign trust as well as U.S. beneficiaries of foreign trust should know the following information. Similarly, if you’re holding your foreign assets as in an international company, there are other things you need to know. Specifically, take the appropriate action if you fall into any of the below categories:

  1. You are a shareholder in possession of 10% or more of an offshore corporation. Plus, more than half the stock of the corporation has five or fewer American owners.
  2. Five or fewer Americans are involved with your offshore company’s stock. In addition, 60% and above of that company’s income is from investments.
  3. You have shareholder control of an offshore company holding 50% or more of assets as investment assets. In addition, you are making 75% and above of the gross income with similar investment income.

Are any of the above is true? If so, you need to be sure to report the income on your personal tax returns. So, be sure to consult with a CPA who is experienced with international entities. Most of the CPAs knowledgeable in this arena are from larger cities which have a high number of wealthy individuals. Your friendly neighborhood CPA from Bugtussle, Kentucky would likely be in over his head. You can still use your local guy or gal for your basic filings. But for offshore filings, get someone who knows the territory.

Conclusion

Conclusion

Clearly, you should set up an offshore asset protection trust with your eyes wide open. It offers a way to place your assets beyond the reach of creditors. So, with smart planning, and awareness of the individual tax filings, you can do things right. Plus, you can hide your assets from unscrupulous lawyers. Just rest assured, there are effective and powerful ways to protect yourself from legal danger. So many other regular people do so every day.

Dr. Kristy Nelson


<To chapter 5

To chapter 7>

to-beginning

[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Bonus]

Last Updated on August 11, 2019